PROP FIRM TOOL • UPDATED SEPTEMBER 2026

Prop firm drawdown and risk-per-trade calculator

Enter your account size and the firm's limits to see how many dollars you can actually lose, how many full losing trades in a row fit before a daily or maximum loss breach, and when a trailing drawdown stops trailing. Start from a popular plan below or type your own numbers.

Educational, not financial advice. Challenges cost money, most traders who buy one do not pass, and no calculator creates an edge: results depend on your strategy. The math below only tells you how much room your rules leave.

Your account and rules

Results update as you type. Percentages are of the starting account size.

Enter 0 if the plan has no daily limit.
Same as the account size on a fresh account.
About $10 per pip for 1 standard lot of EURUSD; check your platform's contract spec.

Max-loss floor now$90,000
Room above the floor$10,000
Daily loss limit$5,000
Risk per trade$1,000
Before a daily-loss breach4 full losses in one day (loss #5 reaches the daily limit)
Before a max-loss breach9 full losses (loss #10 reaches the floor)
Suggested max riskKeep each loss below $1,000 (1% of the account) to survive 10 losses in a row.
How the floor movesStatic: the floor stays at $90,000 whatever your profit, so every dollar above the start adds a dollar of room.

Static, trailing and end-of-day trailing drawdown

Every prop firm sets a maximum loss: a floor your balance or equity must never touch. The three common shapes differ only in how that floor moves.

Many trailing rules stop trailing once the floor reaches the starting balance (sometimes the starting balance plus a small buffer). After that lock the floor behaves like a static one.

Static, end-of-day trailing and intraday trailing drawdown on the same equity path A $100,000 account with a 6% ($6,000) limit over eight days. The static floor stays at $94,000. Both trailing floors rise with new highs and stop at the $100,000 starting balance; the intraday floor rises sooner because it follows intraday highs, the end-of-day floor only follows closing balances. $94k $96k $98k $100k $102k $104k $106k $108k Day 0 Day 1 Day 2 Day 3 Day 4 Day 5 Day 6 Day 7 Day 8 Starting balance = lock level Day 0 close $100,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $94,000, intraday floor $94,000 Day 1 close $101,500: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $95,500, intraday floor $96,000 Day 2 close $103,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $97,000, intraday floor $98,200 Day 3 close $102,200: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $97,000, intraday floor $98,200 Day 4 close $104,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $98,000, intraday floor $98,300 Day 5 close $103,200: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $98,000, intraday floor $99,200 Day 6 close $105,500: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $99,500, intraday floor $99,800 Day 7 close $107,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $100,000, intraday floor $100,000 Day 8 close $106,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $100,000, intraday floor $100,000 Static floor $94k Intraday trailing End-of-day trailing Equity Static, end-of-day trailing and intraday trailing drawdown on the same equity path A $100,000 account with a 6% ($6,000) limit over eight days. The static floor stays at $94,000. Both trailing floors rise with new highs and stop at the $100,000 starting balance; the intraday floor rises sooner because it follows intraday highs, the end-of-day floor only follows closing balances. $94k $98k $102k $106k Day 0 Day 2 Day 4 Day 6 Day 8 Start = lock level Day 0 close $100,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $94,000, intraday floor $94,000 Day 1 close $101,500: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $95,500, intraday floor $96,000 Day 2 close $103,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $97,000, intraday floor $98,200 Day 3 close $102,200: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $97,000, intraday floor $98,200 Day 4 close $104,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $98,000, intraday floor $98,300 Day 5 close $103,200: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $98,000, intraday floor $99,200 Day 6 close $105,500: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $99,500, intraday floor $99,800 Day 7 close $107,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $100,000, intraday floor $100,000 Day 8 close $106,000: static floor $94,000, end-of-day floor $100,000, intraday floor $100,000 Static $94k Intraday trailing End-of-day trailing Equity

Drawn to scale. Illustrative example, not market data: a $100,000 account with a 6% ($6,000) limit; both trailing floors lock at the starting balance.

Read the chart at the day-5 close of $103,200: the static floor is still $94,000, so the room is $9,200. The end-of-day floor has climbed to $98,000 (room $5,200), and the intraday floor to $99,200 (room $4,000), because it also counted the $105,200 intraday high that faded before the close. By day 7 both trailing floors reach the starting balance and stop there: from then on they behave like a static floor at $100,000.

Diagram data as a table
DayIntraday highCloseStatic floorEnd-of-day floorIntraday floor
0$100,000$100,000$94,000$94,000$94,000
1$102,000$101,500$94,000$95,500$96,000
2$104,200$103,000$94,000$97,000$98,200
3$103,400$102,200$94,000$97,000$98,200
4$104,300$104,000$94,000$98,000$98,300
5$105,200$103,200$94,000$98,000$99,200
6$105,800$105,500$94,000$99,500$99,800
7$107,400$107,000$94,000$100,000$100,000
8$107,200$106,000$94,000$100,000$100,000

How the numbers are calculated

The calculator assumes every loss is a full loss at the planned size, with no slippage, commissions or overnight fees. Real losses can be larger than the stop, and some firms measure the daily limit from the start-of-day balance or equity rather than the starting account size, so leave a buffer.

Drawdown rules on popular 50K and 100K plans

Firms we have an affiliate agreement with first, then other firms by our editorial tier. One plan per firm: its most popular plan that sells a 50K or 100K account and states its drawdown type. Dollar figures are the percentage of the starting balance at the size shown; limits that are not one simple number are quoted as the firm publishes them. Confirm the current rules on the firm's site before you buy.

#Firm and planSizeDrawdownMax lossDaily lossCodeDeal
1FundingPips2-step · Flex100KStatic12% ($12,000)4% ($4,000)FHFUNDEDGet deal →
2FundedNextStellar 2-Step100KStatic10% ($10,000)5% ($5,000)PFDEALSGet deal →
3FTMO2-step · Normal100KStatic10% ($10,000)5% ($5,000)—Get deal →
4Finotive FundingInstant · Standard100KStatic7% static (1.5% floating threshold)3.5% ($3,500)FIRST25Get deal →
5The5ers1-step · Pro Growth50KStatic6% ($3,000)3% ($1,500)N9BKRGet deal →
6Moneta Funded1-Step Challenge · Standard100KStatic6% ($6,000)3% ($3,000)—Get deal →
7FintokeiProTrader100KStatic10% ($10,000)5% ($5,000)NEW20Get deal →
8City Traders Imperium2-step100KStatic10% ($10,000)5% ($5,000)GOLD15Get deal →
9AquaFunded2-Step · Standard100KStatic8% ($8,000)5% ($5,000)WELCOMEGet deal →
10Audacity CapitalAbility One · 1-Step100KStatic6% ($6,000)3% ($3,000)14thGet deal →
11Blue Guardian2-Step · Standard100KStatic8% ($8,000)4% ($4,000)BG25Get deal →
12Blueberry Funded2-step · Prime100KStatic10% ($10,000)4% ($4,000)PRIME50Get deal →
13BrightFunded2-step · Classic50KStatic10% ($5,000)5% ($2,500)3YEARSGet deal →
14Funded Trader Markets1-step · Nitro100KTrailing (locks)6% ($6,000)4% of initial balance (3% on 300K), counted from the higherSEPGet deal →
15FunderPro1-step · One Phase100KStatic6% ($6,000)3% ($3,000)MATCHGet deal →
16Goat Funded Trader2-step · GOAT100KStatic10% ($10,000)4% ($4,000)FIRSTGFTGet deal →
17Instant Funding1-step · One-Phase PRO100KStatic8% ($8,000)3% ($3,000)CLARITY37Get deal →
18E8 MarketsE8 Pro · Standard100KStatic8% ($8,000)2.5% ($2,500)USA5Get deal →
19My Funded Futures1-step Evaluation · Rapid100KEOD trailing (lock not stated)See firm pageNone — EOD only in evalCLUBGet deal →
20Atmos Funded2-step · Standard50KStatic10% ($5,000)5% ($2,500)WELCOMEGet deal →
21TradeDay1-Step Evaluation · Quick Pay - Intraday100KIntraday trailing (lock not stated)$3,000NoneTDNEWReview →
22Alpha Futures1-Step Evaluation · Standard100KEOD trailing (locks)$3,000See firm pageAPP50Review →
23Apex Trader FundingEvaluation · EOD Trailing100KEOD trailing (lock not stated)$3,000$1,500SAVENOWReview →
24FXIFY FuturesStandard50KEOD trailing (locks)4% ($2,000)2% ($1,000), soft breachPROPSCOPEReview →
25Alpha Capital2-Step Alpha Pro · Alpha Pro 10%100KStatic10% ($10,000)5% ($5,000)ALPHA20Review →
26FundedHive2-Step Classic · WorkerBee100KStatic10% ($10,000)4% ($4,000)WELCOME20Review →
27Top One FuturesElite Daily V2 · Monthly subscription100KEOD trailing (locks)See firm page$1,250BOGOReview →
28Hola PrimeDirect Account50KEOD trailing (lock not stated)7% ($3,500)3% ($1,500)WELCOME20Review →

Figures come from our firm data, which is rebuilt with the site. Rules change without notice; the firm's own rules page is the only binding source. "(locks)" means our data says the trailing limit stops trailing at some level, such as the starting balance; "(lock not stated)" means our data does not say either way, so check the firm's page.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between static and trailing drawdown?

A static drawdown sets one fixed floor below your starting balance, for example $90,000 on a $100,000 account with a 10% limit, and that floor never moves. A trailing drawdown keeps the floor a fixed distance below your highest balance or equity, so every new high lifts the floor with it. With static drawdown profit adds room; with trailing drawdown the room stays the same size until the floor locks.

How is an end-of-day trailing drawdown different from an intraday one?

An intraday trailing drawdown follows your equity in real time, open profit included, so a trade that runs up and comes back still lifts the floor. An end-of-day trailing drawdown only looks at the balance or equity at the daily close, so a spike that fades before the close does not move it. On the same trades the end-of-day floor is never higher than the intraday floor.

What does it mean when a trailing drawdown locks?

Many firms stop trailing once the floor reaches a set level, usually the starting balance and sometimes the starting balance plus a small buffer. After that the floor stays fixed, like a static drawdown, and further profit adds room again. The calculator shows how much profit a lock needs: the lock level plus the drawdown amount, minus the starting balance.

How much should I risk per trade on a prop firm challenge?

There is no safe number, but the arithmetic is simple: divide your drawdown room by the number of losing trades in a row you want to survive. With $10,000 of room and ten losses in a row, each loss has to stay below $1,000, or 1% of a $100,000 account. Losing streaks longer than you expect are normal, challenges cost money, and most traders who buy one do not pass.

Is the daily loss limit measured from my starting balance?

It depends on the firm. Some measure it from the starting balance, others from the balance or equity at the start of each day, and some use whichever of the two is higher. This calculator takes the daily limit as a percentage of the account size, so check the exact wording on the firm's rules page before you rely on it.

RELATED TOOLS AND GUIDES